• 9 Sep, 2023
  • By chand.v

Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board was set up in August, 1986 under the provisions of "Jammu and Kashmir Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Act, 1988 (Act No.XVII of 1988)",  an act to provide for the better management, administration and governance of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine and its endowments including the lands buildings attached, or appurtenant, to the Shrine, beginning form Katra up to the holy Cave and the adjoining hillocks. This Act deemed to have come into force w.e.f. 30th August, 1986.              

The administration, management and governance of the Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine and the Shrine Fund shall vest in a Board comprising of Chairman and not more than ten members. The composition of the Board shall be as follows:              

(a) The Governor of the State of Jammu and Kashmir shall be the ex-officio Chairman of the Board, and if the  Governor be not a Hindu, then he may nominate an eminent person professing Hindu religion and qualified to be a member of the Board.

(b) Nine person to be nominated by the Governor of Jammu and Kashmir in the following manner:-

(i) Two person who, in the opinion of the  Governor, have distinguished themselves in the service of Hindu religion or culture;

(ii) Two women, who in the opinion the  Governor, have distinguished themselves in the service of Hindu religion or culture or social work, especially in regard to advancement of women;

(iii) Three person, out of persons who have distinguished themselves in administration legal affairs or financial matters;

(iv) Two eminent Hindu of the State of Jammu & Kashmir.


The Board discharges the duties assigned to it through the Chief Executive Officer. The Chief Executive Officer is further assisted  various Functional Heads.              

The present composition of the Board is as follows:


                                                                           Chairman : Sh. Manoj Sinha, the Lt. Governor of Jammu & Kashmir


1.   Mahamandleshwar Shri Swami Vishveshvaranand Giriji Maharaj


2.   Shri Kul Bhushan Ahuja


3.    Dr. Neelam Sareen


4.    Dr. Ashok Bhan, IPS (Retd.)


5.    Shri Baleshwar Rai, IAS (Retd.)


6.    Shri K.K. Sharma


7.    Shri Suresh Kumar Sharma, Retd. Judge


8.    Shri Raghu K. Mehta


  • Chief Executive Officer:  Sh. Anshul Garg, IAS
  • Financial Advisor & Chief Accounts Officer:  Sh. Mahesh Sharma, JKAS

Please click here for download Shrine Board ACT

Header Style
Sticky Menu
Color skins